关注中国

对于那些希望能够在不断发展和变化中的世界经济环境中进行有效运作的企业和机构来说, 飞速增长的贸易和投资给他们带来了机遇. 尤其是在中国, 中型的美国和欧洲的企业都来投资和采购. 随着外资在中国的上升, 外国投资者还是能够遇到不同的挑战和问题.

在中国开展业务, 需要对中国的政治和社会的关键方面有比较深入的了解. 因为在西方和中国的商人之间, 不管是从历史的角度, 还是文化的传承, 都是有某种共同的地方.

Guanxi ("关系") - 在全世界任何地方开展业务都需要建立关系, 特别是在一个相对来说官僚主义比较严重而法律体系又相对弱的社会. 在中国, 只有通过关系才能保证在这个到处充满官僚主义色彩的社会里攻克挑战.

集体主义 - 美国和欧洲的经商比较注重个人和自由, 但在中国集体主义比较流行. 通过维持集体主义文化和关系来保证社会的和谐是至关重要的.

权力 - 中国人对于权力从来都是非常崇拜. 忠诚和守则将工人组织结合起来. 很清楚的是一个人是否受尊重, 取决于他在社会里所起的作用.

使用同一种语言e - 不管中国在人才使用中对于英文语言技能如何要求, 或者已经取得的成功, 如果想要在中国开展业务, 一定要意识到提供信息要使用中文, 与人联系时要使用中文.

要有耐心 - 通常美国和欧洲的商人想要 "cut to the chase" 或者 "get to the bottom line." 这在中国行不通. 中国人对于时间有完全不同的理解. 和中国人到交道需要极大的耐心.

掌握力量 - 中国和西方的商人对力量的概念都有统一的理解: 力量很多时候代表权力. 对于想在非常发展和不断变化的世界经济中获得影响力, 是企业生存的一个关键, 在中国尤其如此.

GCS's Focus on China

The accelerating trade and investment flows of the global economy offer unparalleled opportunities to firms and organizations able to effectively operate in this rapidly changing environment. This is especially true for China, as middle-market US and European firms invest and outsource in this dynamic area. And while the magnitude of foreign investments in China has been increasing, foreign investors continue to encounter different challenges and issues.

Doing business in China requires a deep understanding of key political, crucial, and social aspects. Following there are some of the most common historical and cultural disconnects between Western and Chinese business people.

Guanxi ("relationship") - Networking is an aspect of doing business around the world, but it takes on added importance in a society with a complex bureaucracy and a weak legal system. A web of guanxi helps firms navigate China's bureaucratic and distribution challenges.

Collectivism - American's and European's way of dealing in business is more individualistic and liberal, while Chinese's way is more collectivist. For a collectivist culture maintaining social harmony and relationships is paramount.

Hierarchy - Chinese have a deep respect for hierarchy. Loyalty and obedience binds laboring groups together. There are clear rules to be respected based on one's role in the social order.

Speak the same language - Despite China's commitment to and success in developing human resources with good English-language skills, companies that are serious about doing business in China should supply company information in Chinese and be prepared to initiate contact in Chinese language and with a Chinese perspective to maximize effective communications.

Be patient - Very often US and European businesspeople want to quickly "cut to the chase" or "get to the bottom line." This is simply not how business is done in China. The Chinese people have a different concept of time as compared with Westerners. Dealing with the Chinese people requires patience and an understanding and appreciation for the Chinese culture and the Chinese way of doing business.

 

Copyright © 2009 GCS Business Capital LLC

Mergers Acquisitions Purchase Sell Business Companies China Europe United States